The Cupcake Craze

So there are two new food trends sweeping LA right now. One of which is the food truck, which I actually don’t mind. Especially because it gives some very creative chefs the opportunity to make a variety of  really good food very readily available.

The other trend is cupcakes. And I’m like everyone else, some times you just can’t help but indulge in one of these cute treats. But I honestly think that right now a lot of these coveted little shops are pretty over rated. And despite the marketing ploys and oh so creative branding of companies like Sprinkles and Crumbs , their idea’s aren’t terribly original, their ingredients aren’t that high quality, and they’re so limited in what they can offer.

And another thing, why are they so huge? All I’m saying is that there’s a reason why the amuse-bouche has retained it’s charm for all these years. I’ve got a major sweet tooth, but ugh just the thought of one of these gigantic over processed cupcakes…yuck!

But I think that also has something to do with the way they make the frosting. Most of the time it isn’t butter cream, or whipped cream, or cream cheese or any other type of cream but rather OIL.

And you people know that red velvet is just chocolate cake with what passes as cream cheese icing and red coloring food, right? So why all the hype?

I miss the real old school bakeries, that changed their menu offerings with the seasons. Where people would buy fresh bread every few days. And there were endless possibilities of pastries and desserts and coffees and sandwiches and pot pies etcetera etcetera etcetera … maybe that’s just me though.

I’m sorry, I’m being a food snob. What do you think? Got a favorite cupcake shop, that will make me eat my words? Or a food truck you think every one should stalk?

Let me know what you think...

